Although my recent training at DMAN (Deutsche Management Akademie Niedersachsen – German Management Academy of Lower Saxony) in Celle  had been quite exhausting, I drove home in good spirits. Here’s what “Fit for Partnership with Germany”  is about.

On behalf of this academy, I was asked to be the coach for one of their training programmes. It is called “Fit for Partnership with Germany”. This time, I have been in charge of a group of managers from India.

The programme

The programme “Partnership with Germany” was originally initiated as a bilateral programme by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie – BMWi) in 1997. DMAN actively participates in the „Manager Training Programme“ (Managerfortbildungsprogramm – MP). Managers from Asia, Eastern Europe, North Africa and Latin America are supported by BMWi. The German Society for International Cooperation (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH – GIZ) is responsible for the general management of this programme. Meanwhile, 19 partner countries are now part of this programme. Here the Link.

On the road to Mumbai in my mind

Again, all members of my group invited me to visit them at home – this time in Mumbai! On my way back home on the train, I already painted my journey to India with the brightest colours in my mind. The Taj Mahal and the Golden Temple became vividly visible before my inner eye.

However, I was still comparing prices for flights to India and looking up relevant travelling information. But reality again hit me faster than I expected. The phone call of a co-worker reminded me that a concept still required some modification. No doubt, I will have to put my travel plans on ice for the time being – but I can dream, can’t I? – and now back to the qualification programme:

My job to do according to DMAN

„Present yourself and your company in front of a potential German business partner…“ This is one of the tasks to be solved by my trainees from Mexico, India, Russia, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, or from China – and I help them to do so. I support them to optimise their presentation with regard to German business partners and organisations. Training sessions are either held in English or in the respective national language with the support of an interpreter. The managers will get some tips and exchange information and experiences. For example on how to present their company in order to be taken into serious account by a potential German business partner.

Some cultural differences

Initially, my trainees frequently enter the DMAN programme with overloaded and insufficiently mapped-out presentations.  Their expectations are huge. But they will often be very disappointed, because German managers rather like to get at once to the point by means of a direct, well-aimed communication. This is usually very different in my trainees‘ home countries. 

The training contents

During my training sessions, all trainees will get a well-structured and precisely focused feedback to their presentation within the German business sphere. We most intensively work on the definition of absolutely clear aims of communication. To achieve this, I use the „magic triangle of communication”.

 

In order to reach their German business partner in a better way, the trainees learnt to carry out a good research in advance to be able to empathise with their partner. Questions like „what keeps him/her up at night?“ are discussed and appropriate advice will be given on the basis of actual cases.

For example, during her research, a trainee of mine had found out that her business contact was actually not that „senior“ than she initially had thought. Thus, she immediately had an idea how to adapt her presentation to this circumstance. Another trainee discovered that he might be able to generate nearly a quarter of the annual turnover of his potential business partner with his project. This was an extremely relevant piece of information concerning his negotiations.

The pyramid principle by Barbara Minto

In order to ensure a better structure of the subject and of its content, I preferably introduce my trainees to the pyramid principle by Barbara Minto. This is a simple tool to create structures. Many of my trainees are very eager to soak that in. We then get back to it during the live presentations of the plenary session in the afternoon. This presentation process is more often than not extremely interesting: Who behaves how during the presentation? Both verbal and non-verbal communication are key in this situation. The trainees will receive extensive feedback on which impression they have made, if they were properly audible, or if they possibly transmitted unintentional „messages“ as well.

Live presentations to be recorded on video

The highlight of excitement, however, takes place in the afternoon: The video camera is waiting for the trainees. This is quite like any other video training. Although being nervous, all trainees bravely show what they have optimized – and they really have fun! Despite a certain initial reserve, they are usually very proud of their achievements. And they feel much better prepared for their next meeting with German business partners. That’s how “Partnership with Germany“ works!

India, here I come!

Even if I have to put my planned trip to India on ice, I will try to stay in touch with the help of Linkedin & Co.. I enjoy networking with all my trainees very much and I get much fun out of the intercultural exchange with them, and it considerably expands my horizons, too. I am really looking forward to my next group of trainees in April. They come from Ukraine.

Best regards – also to India,

Renke Ulonska

Photo: private

Von meinem kürzlichen Training bei der DMAN (Deutsche Management Akademie Niedersachsen) in Celle bin ich zwar geschafft, aber freudig nach Hause gefahren. Ich begleite dort ein Fortbildungsprogramm mit dem Titel “Fit for Partnership with Germany”. Diesmal hatte ich eine Gruppe mit indischen Managern.

Das Programm

Das Programm “Partnership with Germany” wurde bereits 1997 als bilaterales Programm von dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) initiiert. Die DMAN beteiligt sich aktiv an der Durchführung des Managerfortbildungsprogramms (MP), mit dem das BMWi die Weiterbildung von Führungskräften aus Asien, Osteuropa, Nordafrika und Lateinamerika unterstützt. Das Generalmanagement für das Programm liegt bei der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH (GIZ). Inzwischen beteiligen sich 19 Partnerländer daran. Hier der Link.

In Gedanken auf dem Weg nach Mumbai

Auch diesmal hatte ich von einem meiner Teilnehmer eine Einladung bekommen, diesmal nach Mumbai. Auf meiner Rückreise im Zug hatte ich mir den Reiseverlauf schon in buntesten Bildern ausgemalt, den Taj Mahal und den Goldenen Tempel quasi direkt vor meinem inneren Auge.

Und noch während ich erste Flugpreise und Internetseiten zu Indien recherchierte, landete ich schneller als gewollt wieder in der Realität. Der Anruf eines Kollegen erinnerte mich daran, noch Veränderungen an einem Konzept vorzunehmen sind. Das mit der Reise wird wohl vorerst nichts. Träumen kann ich ja trotzdem. Und jetzt zurück zum Qualifizierungsprogramm.

Die Aufgabenstellung bei der DMAN

„Present yourself and your company in front of a potential German business partner…“ ist ein Auftrag, den ich meinen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern gebe. Sie kommen aus Mexiko, Indien, Russland, Usbekistan, Ukraine, Georgien, Kirgistan, Kasachstan oder aus China. Ich unterstütze sie dabei, ihre Selbst-Präsentationen bei deutschen Firmen zu optimieren. Die Trainings laufen entweder auf englisch oder in der jeweiligen Landessprache mit Dolmetscher. Die Manager erhalten Tipps und tauschen sich aus, wie sie sich und ihr Unternehmen so darstellen, dass eine Geschäftsbeziehung von deutschen Geschäftspartnern in Betracht gezogen werden kann.

Die kulturellen Unterschiede

Die Teilnehmer kommen meist mit überladenen und wenig zielgerichteten Präsentationen in das Programm der DMAN. Ihre Erwartungshaltung ist riesig und wird oft enttäuscht, weil deutsche Manager eher eine zielgerichtete Kommunikation mögen, die schnell auf den Punkt kommt. Das kennen die Teilnehmer aus ihrem Heimatland häufig ganz anders.

Die Trainingsinhalte

In meinem Training bekommen die Teilnehmer eine strukturierte und fokussierte Rückmeldung zu ihrer Selbstdarstellung im deutschen Businessumfeld. Am intensivsten arbeiten wir daran, die Gesprächsziele sehr klar zu definieren. Dafür nutze ich “Das magische Dreieck der Kommunikation”.

Um ihre deutschen Gesprächspartner besser zu erreichen, lernen sie, im Vorfeld gut zu recherchieren und sich in die Situation des Gegenübers hinein zu versetzen. Fragen wie „what keeps him/her up at night“ werden anhand der konkreten Fälle beraten und diskutiert.

Eine Teilnehmerin hatte bei ihrer Recherche beispielsweise herausgefunden, dass ihr Kontakt gar nicht so „senior“ war wie sie glaubte. Und schon hatte sie eine Idee, wie sie ihre Präsentation anpassen konnte. Ein anderer Teilnehmer fand heraus, dass er fast für ein Viertel des Jahresumsatzes beim potentiellen Partner sorgen könnte mit seinem Projekt – eine relevante Information für seine Verhandlungsposition.

Das Pyramiden-Prinzip nach Minto

Um Thema und Inhalt besser zu strukturieren, stelle ich den Teilnehmern gerne das Pyramiden-Prinzip von Barbara Minto vor. Ein einfaches Mittel, um Struktur zu schaffen. Viele Teilnehmer saugen das auf wie ein Schwamm. Bei den Live-Präsentationen im Plenum am Nachmittag kommen wir darauf zurück.

In Punkto Sprecher wird es meist nochmal spannend: Wer zeigt und verhält sich beim Präsentieren wie? Verbale und nonverbale Kommunikation sind hier das Stichwort. Die Teilnehmer bekommen Rückmeldung zu ihrer Wirkung, wie sie zu verstehen sind und welche ungewollten „Botschaften“ sie ggf. mitliefern.

Live-Präsentation mit Video

Der Spannungsbogen hat seinen Höhepunkt am Nachmittag – die Videokamera wartet auf die Teilnehmer. Es ist wie in fast jedem Video-Training: Nervös, aber mutig zeigen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, was sie bisher optimieren konnten. Und haben richtig Spaß dabei. Bei aller anfänglichen Zurückhaltung sind sie meist sehr stolz auf ihr Ergebnis und fühlen sich deutlich besser gewappnet für ihr nächstes Treffen mit deutschen Geschäftspartnern. So klappt “Partnership with Germany”.

India, here I come!

Auch wenn es mit meinem Besuch vorerst noch nichts wird, versuche ich doch Kontakt zu halten. Linkedin & Co. helfen mir dabei. Das Netzwerken mit den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern sowie der interkulturelle Austausch machen mir großen Spaß und erweitern jedes Mal meinen Horizont.

Ich freue mich auf meine nächste Gruppe im April. Die kommt aus der Ukraine.

Beste Grüße, auch nach Indien,

Renke Ulonska

 

Bild: privat